CRSP and CRST Exam Cost 2027: Every BCRSP Fee and What the Total Looks Like
What it costs to apply for, write and keep the CRSP or the CRST: every BCRSP fee, when you pay it, and what the total looks like.
Applying and writing the CRSP once costs $725 CAD before tax: a $525 non-refundable application fee plus a $200 exam fee. The CRST costs $700 ($525 + $175). After you pass either exam there is an initial certification fee (pro-rated from $300), then $300 a year to renew. GST/HST is added to all BCRSP fees.
CRSP and CRST fees side by side
| Fee | CRSP | CRST | When you pay it | Refundable? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application | $525 | $525 | With your application, before BCRSP assesses it | No, non-refundable |
| Application under a Memorandum of Understanding route | $125 | $125 | With your application | Not stated; check BCRSP |
| Exam, per attempt | $200 | $175 | When you schedule your exam | May be refunded in some cases; see "Cancelling or missing your appointment" below |
| Supplementary writing (a retake) | A fee applies; amount not on BCRSP’s fee pages | Same | Before the retake | Not stated |
| Initial certification (first annual fee) | Pro-rated, from a base of $300 | Same | When you are approved after passing | Not stated |
| Annual renewal | $300 | $300 | By February 28 each year | Not stated |
| Late renewal | A late processing fee applies after February 28; amount not stated | Same | With a late renewal | Not stated |
Taxes: all BCRSP fees are in Canadian dollars and are subject to GST/HST. Source: BCRSP certification fees.
What the total looks like
| Scenario | CRSP (before tax) | CRST (before tax) |
|---|---|---|
| Apply and write once | $525 + $200 = $725 | $525 + $175 = $700 |
| …and become certified (initial fee up to $300) | Up to $1,025 | Up to $1,000 |
| Each year after you are certified | $300 | $300 |
| If you need a retake | Add the supplementary writing fee | Add the supplementary writing fee |
The initial certification fee is pro-rated, so the real first-year total can be lower than the amounts above.
Which one costs less?
The CRST is $25 cheaper per attempt ($175 against $200), and the application fee is the same $525 for both. The bigger question is which designation fits your role and experience: see CRSP vs CRST.
When each fee is due (real 2027 windows)
CRSP, February 2027 window (exam Feb 1–12, 2027):
- By Nov 2, 2026: application fee, $525.
- From Dec 1, 2026, when scheduling opens: exam fee, $200, paid as you book.
- After you pass and the Board approves your certification: the initial certification fee.
- Every year by February 28: $300 renewal.
CRST, March 2027 window (exam Mar 8–19, 2027):
- By Nov 30, 2026: application fee, $525.
- From Jan 4, 2027, when scheduling opens: exam fee, $175, paid as you book.
- After you pass and the Board approves your certification: the initial certification fee.
- Every year by February 28: $300 renewal.
All windows and deadlines for both exams: CRSP exam dates.
Cancelling or missing your appointment (the costly mistakes)
- BCRSP’s fees page says the exam fee “may be refunded if the examination appointment is cancelled within 48 hours of the scheduled appointment date and time.” Read your booking confirmation and BCRSP’s wording carefully before you cancel, because the timing matters.
- BCRSP’s testing policies say that if you arrive 30 or more minutes late, miss your appointment or lack proper ID, you may be refused admission and may forfeit your writing, and you must register and pay for another attempt.
- Rescheduling has strict rules. If you do not follow them you forfeit the writing, and you cannot move your appointment to a date outside your writing window.
If you do not pass
Candidates who fail their first writing may have up to two supplementary writings over the next year, with a supplementary fee each time. Candidates who fail all three writings have their file closed and must apply again later. Budget for this honestly: it is the most common way a certification costs more than the first estimate.
Costs that are not BCRSP fees
BCRSP’s fees are only part of the cost. Plan for the others, which vary a lot:
- Study material: textbooks, practice exams and prep courses. Compare options and try free material first. SPEP has a free mini-exam and free study guides.
- Time and travel: time off work for the exam day, and travel to a Pearson VUE test centre.
- Staying certified: BCRSP requires continuing professional development to recertify, which has its own cost in courses and time.
- Your employer: ask whether your employer covers application, exam or renewal fees.
CRSP and CRST exam cost — Frequently asked questions
How much does the CRSP exam cost?
The CRSP exam fee is $200 CAD per attempt, paid when you schedule. Before you can write it you also pay a non-refundable $525 application fee, so applying and writing once is $725 before tax.
How much does the CRST exam cost?
The CRST exam fee is $175 CAD per attempt, paid when you schedule. With the same non-refundable $525 application fee, applying and writing once is $700 before tax.
What is the total cost to become a CRSP or CRST?
Up to about $1,025 (CRSP) or $1,000 (CRST) before tax in the first year: $525 application, the exam fee and an initial certification fee that is pro-rated from $300. After that, renewal is $300 a year for either.
Is the application fee refundable?
No. BCRSP states that the $525 application fee is non-refundable.
How much does it cost to renew?
$300 a year, due by February 28, for both designations. A late processing fee applies after that date.
How much does a retake cost?
A supplementary writing fee applies for each retake. BCRSP does not list the amount on its fee pages, so check with BCRSP before you plan around it.
Is the CRST cheaper than the CRSP?
Slightly. The application fee is the same $525, but the CRST exam fee is $175 instead of $200.
Do these fees include tax?
No. BCRSP fees are in Canadian dollars and are subject to GST/HST.
Fees as published by BCRSP for the exam windows now open for application (the CRSP in February 2027 and the CRST in March 2027). BCRSP can change its fees, so confirm every amount on the BCRSP fees page before you pay. This is independent study content by SPEP and is not published by BCRSP.